Dentistry

29 06 2007

You can pretty much ignore this entry if you want. Excuse me while I rant about going to the dentist. Today I took the day off and that’s one of the things I did….

So I switched around my work schedule and was able to go to a long-planned dental appointment and in general get my relaxation on. And when I say long-planned, I mean long-planned. I must have made this appointment in January or something. But you know, going to the dentist is not one of my favorite things to do, and I’m guessing that you, unseen reader, feel the same way.

It seems like invariably a dentist sees my two intact, unopposed, relatively healthy wisdom teeth (the lower two never came in) and salivates at the thought of removing them. Why, it’s a hygiene issue. And of course, the hygiene is never good enough. (I like to munch on sweets and I only brush my teeth once a day, which ought to be plenty in my book, but apparently it’s not.) And I really haven’t had issues with my two unopposed third molars on the upper part of my mouth, so why get them out? On the other hand I have a hard time keeping them clean…

[DAYDREAMING SEQUENCE COMMENCES … Elevator music plays softly in the background] I can’t help but think of the dentist scenes in Little Shop of Horrors. By the way, one of the best musicals ever made… but what ever happened to Rick Moranis? Suddenly I feel an urge to watch Honey, I Shrunk the Kid. I loved that movie, that and Back to the Future(s), when I was little. [FADE OUT FROM DAYDREAM SEQUENCE]

So that’s a decision that remains. The thing I hate about going to the dentist is I feel so vulnerable with my mouth all open like that and someone sticking sharp, often vibrating tools in it. It’s such a humbling experience. I did have “subgingival calculus” going on. I like math and I enjoyed my brief encounters with basic and integral calculus in high school and college, so it’s hard for me to imagine what’s wrong with that. So, I have mathematically inclined teeth. Jealousy perhaps? But alas, this necessitated numbing up my gums and sticking a prod in there to loudly scrape all sorts of Tooth Goblins out of there for about a half an hour. In October, I’ll go back to have a “finescaling,” which is… I’m not sure, but I think they go in there with some kind of vibrating tool or something. I dunno. Fun stuff! And I don’t even want to think about getting my wisdom teeth extracted… I’m not yet sure if it’s worth it, but if I do it, it’s probably better to do it while I’m in my mid-20s rather than wait, if I’m sure that problems will result. But that’s the thing; my last dentist thought my teeth would be fine…

Also: I thought it was amusing that they were playing some boring classical shite in there and then the dude comes in and goes, “What is this? A funeral dirge?”

Actions

Information

4 responses

29 06 2007
Matt Adams

Is that “finescaling” stuff where they use the scraper to smooth out your teeth? *shudder* I should probably go to a dentist in October too. o_O

30 06 2007
57channels

I’m not sure, but I know it’s an under-the-gum thing. Probably mostly more scraping. Get thee to a dentist. Good luck getting an appointment sometime this year.

As far as I know, they’re not supposed to be scraping your teeth to smooth them out (unless you’re talking about de-calculus-ification). I had a dentist do something like that a while back after my front tooth got chipped sometime during my braces phase, and every dentist after that including my current one has thought I had a horrible tooth-grinding problem.

1 07 2007
Zounds

I would hardly recommend getting your wisdom teeth removed. It is a pain. Most dentists will recommend them removed anymore just so THEY don’t have to clean them. I am fond of mine and stay they shall… Despite the dentists complaining every time I come in.

If you didn’t know it is ME. AKA the GREAT SHINKIUS.

I should really consider addressing myself as such. Or any other title to make myself seem more important…

1 07 2007
57channels

That’s what I’ve been hearing from people. I don’t care, as long as it doesn’t hurt and cause problems.

Important titles are important. They really are.

You are approved to make comments now. You shouldn’t need to be confirmed anymore. Such is your importance. And wisdom.

Leave a Reply

