Fireworks fun

5 07 2007

Here’s the basic rundown. I leave work and decide to go to a display not far from where I’m staying, instead of going to the one right by work, just to make my life easier. Now, this morning I saw people from the Peachtree Road Race and my train smelled like a gym locker on the stretch between Arts Center and Five Points, and then again westbound to my station. And then at work, we witnessed the amazingly suspenseful hot dog eating contest, including footage of defending champion Takeru Kobayashi appearing to vomit on national television. Handicapped by his wisdom tooth and his bad jaw, he only managed to eat 63 hot dogs. He lost to Joey Chestnut. I thought that name sounded familiar, and then I realized that he was the guy that broke the old record for hot dog eating at Arizona Mills in Tempe a while ago, and I’m starting to think I remember seeing him in the competitive flesh when I was sent to write about that event in 2005, back in my Intern days. It’s a prized tradition for the Intern to write the competitive eating story. [EDIT: I found it!] A Las Vegas guy won, who then went on to get creamed by Kobayashi, I think. I think. So I always think it’s cool now to see the hot dog eating contestants in the news.

Then, this evening, I got stuck in the fireworks crowds. I waited for a while in the two-story Target. The one with the cart escalators. Oh yes. I do love that place. So I go up there and I buy an Icee thingy and I want a pretzel and the guy says I can’t have a pretzel because they’re closed. Fair enough, as they were closed, but I’m not sure why they sold me an Icee and not a pretzel. There may be a reason, I don’t know.

So I go outside and sit down for a while and we think we’re going to have a good view but then we booms and we bangs and I can’t see a thing. So I follow a group of people (going the wrong way as I later discovered) and we know the fireworks are nearby but we can’t see them. We can only see them reflecting in buildings nearby. So I’m watching the fireworks reflecting off of the shiny buildings in the area wondering if that’s all I’m going to see. Finally we find the fireworks (behind the Pier 1 Imports) and we watch them and they’re great. I got a couple good photos and some great video of the fireworks (I got really geekcited about it because I’ve not usually been able to engage in technological anything before, but now I can and I kind of know how). The only problem with the video is I shot it sideways and unfortunately without a professional video editor, I won’t be able to fix those frames. But, it doesn’t really matter, it’s just fireworks. My other camera has an orientation detector but this one that I was using tonight does not. Anyway the finale was heartpounding and ear-damaging and just wonderful.

And then I’m taking a picture afterward of one of my favorite buildings in the area and this handsome young fellow approaches me and says, “Hi, what’s up?” He seemed normal and pleasant enough. So I uttered a gruff “hello” and tried to size him up and see who he was, and before I could say any more, he started making these clawing gestures at me. Like clawing at me. And he kept doing it, and I was horrified and ran away. Guys, don’t do this. Please. I shall refer to this latest character in my Hall of Shame as “Dr. Claw.”

And then of course it was quite busy on the way back but I made it without incident. Once again, happy fourth of July. May you not be clawed at by random strangers.

Actions

Information

7 responses

5 07 2007
Matt Adams

I stand by my assertion that an Icee is, all things being equal, superior to a Slurpee. I could go for either right now.

Clawing, eh? Interesting tactic. One wonders just what kind of women this guy is after, or if the claw manoeuvre is generally successful for him. It seems to be akin to the old “wugga-wugga,” really.

6 07 2007
Nicole

What is this “wugga wugga”? I did a little Internet search and I got “something to break the silence. Too [sic] purposely be rude.” and “Imaginary sound that a computer program makes as it labors with a tedious or difficult task. Compare cruncha cruncha cruncha, grind.”

Among other things. Maybe it’s a bit like “hubba, hubba.” (Yech! Don’t ever say hubba hubba.)

Me, I’m gonna start saying “cruncha, chruncha, cruncha, grind” on a more regular basis than I currently do.

6 07 2007
Nicole

Oh, btw, gotta say, I’m a slurpee person. Slurpees are awesome! The thing I had the other day was actually something, an “Arctic Blast.” Really the big thing is they can’t be melted. It’s got to be the perfect consistency of frozen, oozing goodness. Now if we only had 7-11 and the whole Kwik-E Mart thing going on in the ATL.

6 07 2007
Matt Adams

Hrm…Nick used to have an icon that demonstrated quite well the phenomeon of the ol’ wugga-wugga.

1) Hold your hands palms out, fingers extended about 10 inches from your clavicle.
2) Bend all of your digits to the second knuckle halfway down very quickly three times in rapid succession.
3) Concurrent with step two, say “wugga” at the second and third cycle.
4) OPTIONAL: prepare to be slapped by a bishōjo. ∩_∩

If you’re going to start saying “cruncha, cruncha, cruncha, grind,” I’d recommend doing so to the tune of “Touch-a, Touch-a, Touch-a Touch Me” from Rocky Horror. Not only would you get your newest catchphrase out there, but you’d get it stuck in their heads to boot! Two-fer!

6 07 2007
Matt Adams

I enjoy a Slurpee on occasion as well. You can certainly get far more Slurpee for the same dollar than you can Icee. It could be the case that I prefer Icees because I’ve only recently had Icees made available to me. Still, you can’t (usually) make an Icee that’s exactly 93% Coke and 7% Cherry. Slurpees win for customization options. ^_^

7 07 2007
Nicole

OK I see. Now here’s the thing: “wugga wuggas” are somewhat positive — just humor me here — whereas that “claw” thing implies villainy. The “wugga wugga” sounds so much fun, though no less repulsive.

This post is going downhill rapidly.

Quickly changing the topic to slurpees, I think Icees have their place. And that bear is so cute. But you know, I think after a while, after all the sordid trysts with White Cherry and Mountain Dew and Coke, you’ll return to the Slurpee and realize what you’ve always had all along.

7 07 2007
Matt Adams

*grumble*

So I went on a pizza run today and got Slurpees.

There.

Leave a Reply

