Running commentary

29 07 2007

Some commentary on life as of late.

  1. Finished Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. It was a good read. The ending was satisfying. I just felt the pacing was off (much too slow to start) and the ending could have been better conceived and executed. Still, a pretty darn good read and a decent way to finish. I think adapting this book to film will be a fairly easy process if they cut out all the flotsam for the beginning and maybe play up the ending a little more. I’m really excited to see the 6th and 7th books adapted for the big screen. They’ll make excellent movies. The 6th book, by the way, is awesome. So at this point, I’ve read the 1st, 6th and 7th books and seen all the movies thus far. If I decide to backtrack on the reading, I might just skip (or skim) the second and go straight to the third.
  2. This has not been a good weekend for air travel. Check the news.
  3. I’m beginning to rethink the romanticism I sometimes feel about the college years. Those were pretty savage times. Did it have to be that way? I don’t think so. Knowing what I know now, there are different approaches I could have taken. But to what end? Maybe those occasionally fruitless or painful experiences were essential. In fact, they are essential. And the funny thing is, the journalism landscape now is totally different than it was when I was just starting out. It’s a lot more me-friendly now. Maybe ridiculously so. ALSO: The West has a different attitude from the South and from the East. The people I went to college with are almost a world away from the people I currently work with. People out here, whether from the area or from somewhere else, are just a lot more chill. Relaxed. No hurry. No rush. No pretense (relatively speaking). Be that good or bad, I’m not sure. But this attitude is less prevalent in Arizona, which picks up on the fast-paced nature of Los Angeles, although to a lesser degree. Image is of greater importance in Arizona. People are more sarcastic. Sometimes bitter, in fact. I don’t know why, but I know I had to tone it down a little when I moved here so that I fit in a little better. Somehow the traditionalism of the South cuts down on a lot of things: women wearing clothing that is too revealing, use of bad words, use of sarcasm, etc. But you know… for the most part, it’s that same sun-belt mentality of sunshine and possibility. That I like.
  4. Went out, bought a vacuum and two area rugs, and then took them to Starbucks with me. And then I carried both these items on the train.
Actions

Information

2 responses

29 07 2007
UJ

Just caught up with your blog. Me thinks you need to get out and enjoy life more rather than blogging about it. Us old guys can’t understand why bogging is so important. it just sounds like whining. Go ahead and reread some of your blogs from say a year ago and it will reveal how perhaps the things you thought were important enough to rant or rave about on-line really ended not being worth the electrons (both electrically and brain cell wise) it took to create them. Just an old school thought from someone who has been around the block a time or two. Albeit not while lugging a vacuum cleaner and drinking a Starbucks’ extra shot expresso…

30 07 2007
Matt Adams

1) Dateline had an extended interview with J.K. Rowling last night and she cleared up a lot of the ambiguity of the epilogue. It was quite interesting, though she told a bunch of stories that I’ve already heard. For instance, when she was six years old, she wrote a story about a rabbit named Rabbit.

2) …great…

3) I didn’t have a traditional college experience, so I’m glad it’s over with. That said…are you suggesting that in Arizona the women swear, appreciate sarcasm, and wear “clothing that is too revealing”…? Whoo-hoo! Uh…that is, you know…

4) It’s about time that someone brought some class to your local Starbucks. ^_^

WHOO-HOO!

Leave a Reply

