Don’t Tase me, sis!

21 09 2007

Pardon the bad joke. Look, I don’t have an opinion about *that* and I’m trying to remain impartial.

But anyways… according to my alma mater’s newspaper, for which I used to work, Taser International is coming out with a much more stylish, feminine kind of Taser. This is “shocking” news. Heh. Maybe they’ll offer custom skins and stick-on bling too, and BlueTooth compatibility.

Factoid: Taser International is based in Scottsdale, Arizona. It’s interesting. Say what you will, but with GoDaddy and Cold Stone Creamery alone, the ‘Dale is making some attempt to rock the Kokopelli-adorned free world.

As an aside, what is up with leaving your BlueTooth cell phone earpiece cemented to the ear for hours, even when one is not on the phone? I see this a lot and I think it borders a little on the ridiculous.

Actions

Information

4 responses

22 09 2007
Zounds

Cuz we all need little girlie tasers to feel feminine while zapping the hell out of some dude.

And the BlueTooth earpieces are indeed quite ridiculous. Plus you just look like an idiot most of the time.

22 09 2007
Matt Adams

Nah, you’ve got it all wrong…it’s bad enough being tasered, but think of how much worse you’d feel if the taser in question were pink with little sunflowers all over it! Psychological warfare! ^_^

Plus you just look like an idiot most of the time.

Well, that was uncalled for…

23 09 2007
Jim

The rats are jumping from the ship as hundreds of Cold Stone locations are now collapsing around the US. Why? Because the “concept” of mixing stuff into ice cream has always been a fad, and the fad is now over. The product isn’t that good, is grossly overpriced, and consumers are flocking back to properly formulated ice cream from other chains like Baskin Robbins and Ben & Jerry’s.

So much for “the ‘dale” making their mark!

The Cold Stones have been largely sold to Yuppies with too much equity in their homes, who jumped into the stores to be “business owners”. But since the labor costs are double the competition, and stores are too big and too expensive to run, the number of unprofitable stores is skyrocketing with the results we have here.

23 09 2007
Nicole

Really? Is that so? I’m not so sure.

1. My feeling is that mixed ice cream is popular and it’s here here to stay. Anecdotally, the Cold Stone near me is always bustling with customers, eating inside and out, year round. And I’m one of those people. I’m planning to go tonight, in fact.

2. I’m not really a fan of Baskin or B&J (although I like their ice cream tubs for freezer storage). I’m more of a DQ/Carvel lover myself, or maybe a smaller local chain. But marble slab has a place. I like being able to have some degree of control over what I order, and the ability to mix strange concoctions of my own invention. It’s fun.

3. Granted, I don’t represent the whole of humanity. But Cold Stone is a 12-year-old business. I don’t think that exactly fits the profile of a “fad.” It’s certainly outlasted pogs and leg warmers.

4. So I’m with you in that it ain’t the greatest or the best, and it’s a huge chain that has its ups and downs (including a very recent merger), but nor is it this awful failing thing either.

Leave a Reply

